diff --git a/docs/LOOT Readme.html b/docs/LOOT Readme.html index 4f594aee..94807ad6 100644 --- a/docs/LOOT Readme.html +++ b/docs/LOOT Readme.html @@ -150,16 +150,14 @@ h3{
The Help
menu provides a link to this readme and an about page that contains the version of LOOT being run, some legal information and a link to the project homepage.
-
-
+ Clicking the Sort Plugins
button in the main window will begin the sorting process.
First, LOOT downloads and applies any masterlist updates available, if the relevant setting is enabled. If the latest update cannot be parsed (eg. due to typos), then LOOT will roll back until it finds a version that works.
LOOT then sorts your plugins according to a combination of data from the plugins themselves, and any masterlist and userlist entries they may have. If a cyclic interaction is detected (eg. A depends on B depends on A), then sorting will fail. -
If sorting is successful, the calculated load order is then displayed in the dialog shown above. "Dummy" plugins (ie. only contain a header record) are displayed in grey text, and other plugins that load BSAs are displayed in blue text.
-Clicking on a plugin in the list will display the editing panel, where its load order related metadata can be edited. The Show only conflicting plugins
checkbox filters the plugin list so that only plugins which can be validly added to the Load After
list and either contain conflicting records or (if the selected plugin loads a BSA) load BSAs that may contain conflicting resources. The checkbox must be ticked before plugins can be added to the Load After
list, which is done by drag 'n' dropping them from the plugin list, and it must be unticked to select another plugin for editing. The priority value is explained below.
+
If sorting is successful, the calculated load order is then displayed in the dialog shown above. In this window, you can view the load order calculated by LOOT, and make any edits to the metadata used that you feel are necessary. The window is a simplified version of the metadata editor window, in which all metadata that does not affect sorting is hidden. Please see the section below for more information on how to edit metadata using it.
If the Apply
button is clicked, LOOT does one of two things: if no edits were made, then it immediately applies the load order; but if edits were made, then it repeats the sorting process with the new edits applied. If the Cancel
button is clicked, then the load order and any edits made are discarded.
LOOT then generates a report and displays it either in a new window or in your default browser, according to the value of the relevant setting. Any errors encountered during the sorting process will be displayed in this report. See the next section for more information on the report.
LOOT is able to sort plugins ghosted by Wrye Bash, and can extract Bash Tags and version numbers from plugin descriptions. Provided that they have the Filter Bash Tag present in their description, LOOT can recognise filter patches and so avoid displaying unnecessary error messages for any of their masters that may be missing.
@@ -173,10 +171,9 @@ Clicking on a plugin in the list will display the editing panel, where its load
LOOT's results report can be displayed either in LOOT's own report viewer, or in your default web browser, according to the value of the relevant setting. -
The report is comprised of two sections: +
LOOT's results report is comprised of two sections:
Summarytab gives information on the versions of LOOT and the masterlist used, whether masterlist updating is enabled, and breaks down the numbers of each message type in the Summary and Details tabs. It also notifies you if there have been no changes in the
Detailstab since you last ran LOOT for the same game. Finally, the
Summarytab is also where any global messages supplied in the masterlist and any errors encountered during sorting are displayed. +
Summarytab gives information on the versions of LOOT and the masterlist used, whether masterlist updating is enabled, and breaks down some message and plugin numbers. It also notifies you if there have been no changes in the
Detailstab since you last ran LOOT for the same game. Finally, the
Summarytab is also where any global messages supplied in the masterlist and any errors encountered during sorting are displayed.
Detailstab lists the plugins LOOT sorted in their new load order, along with any messages LOOT has provided for them. LOOT will also display the plugin's CRC value and extract its version if found in the plugin's description field. If LOOT suggests any Bash Tags to be added, they will be displayed in green text, while any Bash Tags to be removed will be displayed in red text.
In addition, there are a few filters that can be used to selectively hide items in the Details
tab. These filters are:
@@ -201,8 +198,11 @@ Clicking on a plugin in the list will display the editing panel, where its load
LOOT's sorting algorithm uses the contents of plugins to work out where they should load relative to one another. However, this is sometimes not enough for it to produce a correct load order. In such cases, additional metadata can be supplied so that the plugins get sorted correctly. This metadata is supplied to LOOT by two sources: one is the masterlist, which is maintained by the LOOT team, and the other is the userlist, which you can edit as you desire. -
The metadata editor allows you to manage the metadata stored in your userlist. When opened, it lists all the plugins you have installed, and any that are missing but have existing user-added metadata, in alphabetical order. Plugins that load BSAs are displayed in blue text, and plugins with user-added metadata are displayed in bold text. Selecting a plugin then opens its metadata for editing, and displays any existing metadata in the fields to the right of the plugin list. Right-clicking a plugin displays a context menu containing a few commands. The editor fields and context menu commands are explained in the tables below. -
The Add …
, Edit …
and Remove …
buttons are used to edit the contents of the list currently visible. The Edit …
and Remove …
buttons are greyed out if no row is selected or if the selected row is not user-added metadata, but comes from the masterlist or the plugin itself. Metadata that comes from the masterlist or the plugin itself cannot be edited or removed, only added to. This is to prevent users from accidently overriding important metadata.
+
The metadata editor allows you to manage the metadata stored in your userlist. It is a more fully-featured version of the dialog displayed during sorting. When opened, it lists all the plugins you have installed, and any that are missing but have existing user-added metadata, in alphabetical order. Plugins that load BSAs are displayed in blue text, and plugins with user-added metadata are displayed with a tick in the first column of the list. Selecting a plugin then opens its metadata for editing, and displays any existing metadata in the fields to the right of the plugin list. Right-clicking a plugin displays a context menu containing a few commands. The editor fields and context menu commands are explained in the tables below. +
The Add …
, Edit …
and Remove …
buttons are used to edit the contents of the list currently visible. The Edit …
and Remove …
buttons are greyed out if no row is selected or if the selected row is not user-added metadata, but comes from the masterlist or the plugin itself. Metadata that comes from the masterlist or the plugin itself cannot be edited or removed, only added to. This is to prevent users from accidentally overriding important metadata.
+
+
The Show only conflicting plugins
checkbox filters the plugin list so that only plugins which either contain conflicting records or (if the selected plugin loads a BSA) load BSAs that may contain conflicting resources are displayed. While the filter is active, it is also possible to add plugins to the Requirements
, Incompatibilities
and Load After
lists by drag 'n' dropping them from the plugin list. The filter must be deactivated to select another plugin for editing.
+
The Save Changes
button will save any user-added metadata to your userlist, including any changes made, then exit the metadata editor. The Cancel
button will exit the editor without saving any changes.